Skip to content

More Dancing

August 12, 2010

Anyone who has come here from the Sick forums probably read that about an hour after I posted my last post on August 1 I tweaked my code with a 301 redirect that just tanked my site.  Once again I was doing the dance.

My main URL was not in the top 1000 results for any of my keywords and any pages that did show up were on page 6 or more.  My traffic slowed and my adsense went down accordingly.

As with the last dance I just kept on building backlinks as I had been knowing that eventually the site would come back.  It finally came back yesterday.  My rankings still aren’t as good as they were before but I’m hoping that they’ll continue moving up as the site stabilizes again.  What’s interesting is that while my rankings and traffic were down my EPC went up and I started getting multiple $8+ clicks which is always nice. 🙂

I’m hoping that by the end of the month I’ll be back to where I was on August 1 and I’ll not be changing any more code. 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. hopeless permalink
    August 13, 2010 8:41 am

    are you using the same anchor text all the time or are you mixing it up?

    • August 13, 2010 10:55 am

      I generally target 3-4 keywords at a time and mix them up. Then, when they’re ranking, I’ll move on to my next set.

  2. August 30, 2010 2:42 pm

    Look like Sick is really helping you rock higher in the SERP. Could you please tell me what application are you using to track your rankings in SERP? It has a good looking report.

    • September 2, 2010 3:06 pm

      I have an excel spreadsheet set up and formatted. Then I run the SERP report using SEO Books Rank Tracker tool, export it as .csv and paste it into the pre-formatted excel.

Leave a Reply

