Skip to content

WPMU, SEO Book and More

July 13, 2010

SEO Book

First, welcome to visitors from the SEO Book Community forums.  I don’t have a membership there (because I’m a cheapo) so I’ve no idea how or why my blog was mentioned (could be something along the lines of “check out this idiot!”), but the more readers the merrier.  To be honest, I never really expected to get *any* readers so it’s all a bonus. 🙂  Though now I feel like I have to actually put up some solid, helpful content so if you want some of that, keep reading…

WPMU

Second, a new *gasp* reader contacted me yesterday to ask more about WPMU blogs.  This enterprising soul went on to do some additional research to learn more about WPMU blog and how you can use them so he no longer needs the information but I figured I’d post more here for those who are not quite so independent.

WPMU stands for WordPress Multi User and basically this is the wordpress.com blogging platform which has been released to the public so any old Joe or Mary can host their own free blog network.  This can be both a good and a bad thing.

First, the good points:

  • They are all on different IP addresses so when you build links out from them you’re getting them from a variety of sources.
  • You don’t have to worry about paying for domains, hosing, installing scripts or any of the other time and money intensive stuff that can come along with hosting your own website.
  • Many of them are parts of social networks so your blog will get some automatic publicity as your posts generally get listed as “recent posts” on the front page of the WPMU host blog.
  • They come pre-loaded with templates and plug-ins so you don’t have to do any installing or upgrading on your own.
  • They generally are more lenient about including advertising than wordpress.com is on their blogs.

Now, the disadvantages:

  • These blog networks are owned by people like you and me which means that they are at the mercy of others.  This means your blog can be deleted because it’s not the right niche, it’s too commercial, the owner gets click happy or they just decide to shut down the network because the expense of paying for the server load just doesn’t make it worth it.  If you’ve read back, you’ll see that several of my blogs have been removed by the owners for various reasons.
  • Because they already have templates and plug-ins installed you can do limited customizations – as with wordpress.com – so you may not be able to optimize it exactly how you’d like.
  • Occasionally you have to put up with the owner infringing on “your” blog with their advertising or links.  I found one platform where the guy had a 6″x3″ batch of links at the bottom of each page in each template…it was a bit over the top…

You would probably agree with me that being at the whim of the blog owner is the biggest drawback, but in my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages – which is why I’m using them.

Now the question becomes how to best use them.

As with most things in IM, there are automated tools that you can use which  can make your life substantially easier.  The best known tool for this type of job is Link Farm Evolution (LFE for those in the know).  It basically will manage your blog network for you.  It’ll create your accounts and then you can add content to them all whenever you like.  At a one-time cost of $297 it’s at the higher end of the expense curve but the people who have it tend to rave about it and depending on what your goal is for your blogs, it could be very useful.

Since my goal is to build backlinks to my websites, not to promote my or someone else’s products, LFE is not really the tool for me because while it automates the account creation, you still have to go in and manually add the content when you want to publish to your network and frankly, that’s too much work for me.  I like to market the lazy way.  Plus, as I mentioned earlier, I’m a cheapo.  As a result, I’ve developed my own cheap and lazy way of autoblogging with WPMU sites.  With my method I don’t need special plug-ins or templates or any software to manage the process.  It’s very set and forget.

Basically, I will create the blog, set up the content addition and then just let run.  I publish 5-15 articles on each blog each day and once it’s set up I have nothing more to do with it.  It takes less than 10 minutes per blog from start to finish.

Now, you may be wondering, how do I autopublish that content?  Well my friends, I’d love to tell you, but that’s my secret right now, sorry.  I’m still debating whether I want to release the info or not or if I might do an ebook at a later date or whatnot.  I know, it’s not nice to be selfish but I have to figure out just how damaged this method could get if released because as much as I like to help people, I don’t want to ruin a great method to do it.

And More

Finally, I invite you to participate in this blog.  Make comments, ask questions, etc.  As I said, I never anticipated getting readers so I chose to do this on a wp.com blog which isn’t the greatest for visitor friendliness.  However, it’ll do and nofollow links are still useful so feel free to use your keywords when making comments!

Have a great day and happy IMing!

One Comment leave one →
  1. gunt permalink
    July 16, 2010 12:22 pm

    Hi!
    I wonder what’s your secret to autopublish?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

