Skip to content

Making Sense of Adsense

July 2, 2010

We all know that Google is a fickle beast.  There can be no disputing that.  But sometimes, things just make no sense.

I’ve mentioned in previous posts my surprise at my increased adsense earnings considering my decreased (drastically) traffic due to big daddy G tanking me in the SERPs.  I would have logically assumed that my adsense would have gone down accordingly.  In fact, the opposite is true.

Since starting this experiment my adsense earnings have increased by 200-500% every day.  I am getting more clicks (with less traffic!) and each click is worth more.  Since the change I’m averaging almost $2.50/click.  That’s pretty sweet.  Before the change I was averaging $1.85/click.

What am I doing differently you might wonder?  I’m glad you asked.  On my old site design I used multiple adsense units on each page of various types.  Now, I have a single unit on each page and it is in the middle of the text, just after the 2nd paragraph.  The link color on the adsense unit matches the link color for the rest of the site and that’s pretty much it.

Now, I just need to get on page 1 for a few of my keywords and get a dozen more clicks a day and I’ll be a happy woman!

Switching Gears

Tomorrow I am being invaded by about 30 family members for our annual family reunion.  It lasts most of the next week so I may not be able to update or work on a regular basis but I’ll still be getting as much done as possible while at the same time fulfilling my family obligations.

Cheers!

One Comment leave one →
  1. gunt permalink
    July 5, 2010 9:57 am

    From $1.85/click. to $2.50/click, that’s great!

Leave a Reply

