Skip to content

Getting Started

June 28, 2010

Ok, to get started I want to outline the basic information:

Money Site Information

The target site for this experiment is 2 years old and in the finance niche (don’t ask me specifics about my niche or my keywords ’cause I won’t tell ya!).  It is a PR0

I am starting the experiment with 47 external backlinks sitewide (pretty pathetic for a 2 year old site!).

The site has been static up to now but I recently converted it to a blog and am adding spun content via automatic methods.

The site is monetized with 1 large adsense unit (links, no images) on each post/page located below paragraph 2.

The domain is not keyword targeted (purchased it before I learned anything about keywords!).

There are 33 easily optimized long-tail keywords for my site that get over 1000 searches a month.  (there are an additional 80 keywords that would be more challenging to optimize for and/or get fewer than 1000 searches per month).

My main target keyword is KW4 in the keyword list on the stats page.  I will be using only this keyword when promoting/tracking my authority sites.

Authority Site 1:  Squidoo

The lense is 2 years old and a PR2.  It has 2 external backlinks (again, pathetic) and it ranks in the top 1000 of its category.  I get about 50 visitors a month from the lense.

Authority Site 2:  Ezine Article

This article was published on June 25.

It has no external backlinks and the URL is too long for my SERP checker so I won’t know how it’s ranking until it’s on page 1.

Authority Site 3:  Ehow

Someone else created an Ehow page and used my site as a resource so I’m going to piggyback off of their work and do us both a favor by promoting it. 🙂  It isn’t ideal because it doesn’t link using any of my target keywords and it links to an internal page but hey, I’m lazy…

It has no external backlinks and the URL is too long for my SERP checker so I won’t know how it’s ranking until it’s on page 1.  It is currently PR1.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

